Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Indonesia Social Science Seminar Series | Covid-19 and health care in Indonesia: A painful lesson for a better future

April 28 @ 10:00 - 11:00

Event Navigation

Join Laksono Trisnantoro (Universitas Gadjah Mada) and Retna Hanani (University of Amsterdam) for a discussion of Indonesia’s healthcare system and what lessons can be drawn from public management of the Covid-19 pandemic.

In this talk, Laksono Trisnantoro will take a close look at the Indonesian healthcare system and the experience of dealing with Covid-19. The pandemic has been a painful lesson due to the unpreparedness of health institutions, revealing key weaknesses in the system. At the same time, the experience has led, from the very beginning, to ideas for more effective responses to such outbreaks and, as such, to transformation and, hopefully, a better system for the future.

About the IS4 Series
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

Timezones
1 am PT / 4 am ET / 10 am CET / 3 pm WIB / 6 pm AET

Registration
Register here. Please note that by registering for this event, you will automatically be subscribed to the SSEAC mailing list. Should you have any questions or wish to discuss accessibility requirements, please feel free to email: [email protected]

Details

Date:
April 28
Time:
10:00 - 11:00
Event Category:
Website:
https://uni-sydney.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_u8aGyzfbScCsvfSY2Ey3LQ

Organizer

Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV)

Venue

Online event