Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

IS4 Webinar | Why veil? Religious headscarves and the public role of women

April 1 @ 03:00 - 04:00

Event Navigation

Join Assistant Professor Naila Shofia and Assistant Professor Vasiliki Fouka for a thought-provoking talk unveiling the socio-economic factors that compel some Indonesian women to wear religious headscarves.

In this talk, Assistant Professor Naila Shofia (Yale-NUS College) will show that new economic opportunities that compel women to abandon their domestic roles have driven the adoption of religious veiling. Using human-coded data of around a quarter million photographs of pupils attached to Indonesian public high school yearbooks, Assistant Professor Shofia measured the prevalence of veiling among young women across Indonesian districts for more than two decades. She exploits exogenous variations generated by the interaction between international demand for Indonesia’s product and sectoral and gender composition of local industries to show that the relationship is causal. This study demonstrates that veiling represents an effort by young women to reconcile their desire to join the formal labor market and the prevailing social norms in society.

About the IS4 Series
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

Time zones
31 March, 6 pm PT / 9 pm ET
1 April, 8 am WIB / 12 pm AET

Registration
More.

Details

Date:
April 1
Time:
03:00 - 04:00
Event Category:
Website:
https://uni-sydney.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_oqJ96fBhS1G7VFcRn8N1Kw

Organizer

Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV)

Venue

Online event