Loading Events

« All Events

IS4 Webinar | Displacement and dispossession in carbon sink governance: The politics of peatland partnerships in Indonesia | Michelle Miller

December 8 @ 09:00 - 10:00

Join Dr Michelle Miller for a closer look at climate change mitigation and the politics of low-carbon peatland partnerships.

Dr Michelle Miller will examine the politics of partnerships aimed at retaining soil-based carbon in Indonesia’s province of Riau, where over half the surface area is composed of agriculturally productive peatlands. Peatland conversion for agriculture is the leading cause of Indonesia’s terrestrial carbon emissions that contribute substantially to global warming. Dr Miller is concerned with how transboundary governance arrangements shape place-based value perspectives, land use practices and resource tensions in peatland partnerships in Riau. The discussion will focus on examples of: (a) bilateral, (b) hybrid (public, private, societal) co-governance, and (c) internationally funded community-based partnerships aimed at sustainably developing peatlands through nature-based interventions. Mostly project-driven and fixed term, all of these existing partnerships displace emissions to areas beyond project boundaries and many contribute to societal dispossession from sustainable relationships with nature. Drawing from interviews and qualitative data analysis, Dr Miller will identify key areas where greater transboundary cooperation (across sectors and jurisdictions) and fairness (inclusion in distributing co-benefits and risks) could improve peatland partnerships in Riau and other places with similar social and ecological characteristics.

About the IS4 Series
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

Date & timezones
8 December 2022
9am CET / 3pm WIB / 4pm SGT / 7pm AEDT

More information
Register here.

Organizer

Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV)

Venue

Online via Zoom