Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

IS4 Webinar | Is democracy still relevant to reduce nationalist conflict? Indonesia in comparative perspective

February 24 @ 15:00 - 16:00

Event Navigation

Join Professor Jacques Bertrand and Dr Veronika Kusumaryati to understand how democratization can offer pathways away from the violence of nationalist conflict, as long as one manages to avoid the many pitfalls along the way.

In his latest book titled ‘Democracy and Nationalist Struggles in Southeast Asia’, Professor Jacques Bertrand offers a comparative-historical analysis of five nationalist conflicts over several decades. At a time when democracy appears to be receding in many parts of the world, what can we learn from analyzing the sometimes tenuous period of democracy in Southeast Asia in relation to violent nationalist mobilization? Professor Bertrand will speak to challenges and debates on democracy’s impact on these conflicts. While democratization significantly reduces violent insurgency over time, it often introduces pernicious effects that can fail to resolve conflict and contribute to maintaining deep nationalist grievances. He will offer some insights from Aceh and Papua, and situate them in relation to other conflicts in the region.

About the IS4 Series
Sponsored by the Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), this virtual seminar series brings together social science experts from across the globe to discuss pressing issues facing Indonesia.

Time zones
24 February, 6 am PT / 9 am ET / 3 pm CET / 9 pm WIB

Registration
More information.

Details

Date:
February 24
Time:
15:00 - 16:00
Event Category:
Website:
https://uni-sydney.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_uv69n7yxQ0m2sY_cwj59VQ

Organizer

Sydney Southeast Asia Centre (SSEAC), the Cornell Southeast Asia Program (SEAP) and the Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV)

Venue

Online event